.............Poet Laureate


Order of Poets Laureate from Present:

Bonnie Young - 2011 - 2012

James Cushing - 2009 - 2010

Dian Sousa - 2008

Rosemary Wilvert - 2007

Gloria L. Velasquez - 2006

Jane Elsdon - 2005

Michael McLaughlin - 2004

Kevin Patrick Sullivan - 2003

Anne Candelaria - 2002

Hernan Castellano-Giron -2001

Glenna Luschei - 2000

Ray Clark Dickson - 1999





.....This year the board of the San Luis Obispo Poetry Festival selected from the nominiees , Bonnie Young as the 12th  Poet Laureate for the 27th Annual San Luis Obispo Poetry Festival and the city of San Luis Obispo for the year 2011 from  among the nominees 
 Bonnie Young
 holds a BA in English Literature from Cal State L.A. She has been the main facilitator of a poetry workshop, Writers on the Edge, for seven years. Her work has been published in The Witness, Flyway Midwest Quarterly, Rattle, Thema, Mount Loretto Bulletin, Cafe Solo, Monterey Observer, San Luis ObispoTribune and the New Times. She has served on the SLO Arts Council Poetry Committee and creating with her workshop, a 5-year Teen Writing Scholarship to the Cuesta Writers Conference. She also Instigated with her workshop, "Put a Poem in Your Pocket" displays in local libraries promoting National Poetry Month, with copies of poems for library patrons to take home  

 Bonnie was proclaimed Poet Laureate for the 27tth Annual San Luis Obispo Poetry Festival and the city of San Luis Obispo for the year 2011, on October 18th at the San Luis Obispo City Council  Chambers .

Bonnie will be reading next at












Corners of the Mouth | San Luis Obispo Poetry Festival | Poet Laureate | History | Board Members | Events | Contact | Home